Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Award Season is Just Around the Corner

Get ready for award season hype!
Not the Oscars, not the Grammys – but the Newbery!
Mockingbird vs. The Night Fairy

The Newbery Medal is awarded every year by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children’s book published in the previous year; winners are announced in January of the New Year. In 1922, when the first Newbery medal was awarded, the purpose of the award was “to encourage original creative work in the field of books for children.” Each year, librarians read, select and debate children’s books, and select a winner, and a few “runner’s up”, called Newbery Honor Books. Members of the Newbery committee must consider all types of literature, including fiction, non-fiction, poetry, even plays. View the full list of Newbery Award and Honor Books, from 1922-Present.

Check out some of the books we think are Newbery contenders:

She's voting for One Crazy Summer

Have a Newbery assignment coming up? View our Newbery Bibliography here, it highlights some of our favorites!

No comments:

Post a Comment